Cake · Pinterest Try-outs

Lemon Poppy Seed Cake

“This cake ticked all the boxes of light and delicate flavor and texture.”

dav

Hello friends!

For those of you who read my previous post and understood my worries and the feelings I’ve been experiencing that past weeks, I have to inform you that my Tuna Pastitsio worked! Nikos loved it and it immediately warmed our hearts…We came closer emotionally and psychologically and shared beautiful moments. A few guests came over on Saturday and I baked a lovely cake for them. Half of them were on a diet and powerfully refused to try it (I salute them!!). This meant more cake for me and Nikos. Anyway, they contributed to the generally uplifted spirits!

dav

However, this lasted for a week and now I feel we are sinking again… We are both lost in our own thoughts over wedding starters, wine choices, deposits, house alterations and this is eating us up… Although I know it’s just a phase after long-term and tiring planning and preparations, any help or advice would be welcome.  To know that other couples have gone through this, too, would be soothing to my alarmed mind…

dav

Since I wrote “soothing”, cake always does that, right? It soothes the mind, soul and heart. There are no troubled thoughts when sinking your teeth in a forkful of cake. No worries when smelling and tasting the bewitching aromas and capturing flavors. Peace in a piece, if you know what I mean!!!

Peace in a piece. Namaste!

dav

This cake ticked all the boxes of light and delicate flavor and texture. The lemon hues were subtle and had the desirable intensity. The poppy seeds brought an idea of crunchiness in every bite. The cream cheese frosting calmed the acidity of the lemon and offered richness along with cooling down the explosion of taste.

dav

Those of you following me on Instagram will know that I experienced a problem with the frosting. It came out runny and unstable but it was only my fault. I used light cream cheese and not full-fat. I also used the wrong kind of butter. It was like margarine. I failed in that, but, once on the cake and in the fridge, it solidified and sat well on every served piece. You can still feel while eating it, that the frosting is not dense enough, but it only happens as a reminder and serves as a lesson! Buy the proper cream cheese and butter, girl!

dav

Also, I made two layers instead of three and this caused the syrup not to soak the cake, because it was thicker and taller than three thinner layers. Still, the cake itself is velvety and this caused no problems on the overall texture.

dav

Other than that, whoever tasted it complimented me on my effort and needed a second helping! Hooray!

WHAT YOU NEED:

For the Cake

  • 360g flour
  • 300g powder sugar (I only used 200g)
  • 4½ teaspoons baking powder
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 3 tablespoons poppy seeds
  • 200g butter
  • 1 large lemon, zest only
  • 275ml buttermilk
  • 5 egg whites
  • Poppy seeds or flaked almonds to decorate

For the Lemon Syrup

  • 100g powder sugar
  • 75ml water
  • 1 lemon, juice only

For the Almond Frosting 

  • 225g cream cheese
  • 200g butter
  • 600g powder sugar
  • 1 tablespoon almond extract

For the instructions click here.

I found this recipe on Pinterest and followed the steps to almost success!(Don’t forget to follow me on my Pinterest Account for more inspiration!)

THANK YOU  Apple & Spice for this incredibly light and delicate Lemon Cake Recipe.

Love,

Evgenia ♥♥

4 thoughts on “Lemon Poppy Seed Cake

    1. Thank you so much for reading my post and for your kind words!! I am still working on it and things have gotten better… It’s nice to know that my words are actually heard or better yet read!! 😀😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

