Cake

S’mores Cake

“The taste is balanced, sweet and sexy! You get all the crunchiness, sweetness, smoothness and chewiness in just one bite. That’s instant happiness, right?”

dav

Hello, there, heartsnyumers!

Have you heard the word? Spring is the word!! Well, technically it’s not Spring until the 20th of March! How impatient are we?

dav

Personally, I feel a bit uncertain of whether I want to let go of Winter time and this romantic, skin-tightening, layer-wearing, excuse-for-extra-hugs cold weather and all the sensations it carried….On the other hand, there is Spring with all the smells, colours, warmth and of course WEDDING TIME!!!

dav

It’s only 2 months to go and I literally can’t keep calm! I have already lost my sleep, experienced disasters, thrown a tantrum, cried over the idea of us dancing together and there is nothing else to do but wait for my first fitting!! This is getting tooooo real and I think I don’t want it to end…Because what will I do after all the partying and celebrations?

dav

“Partying” I typed and it reminded me of this weekend. It was Niko’s Bachelor Party and he surely enjoyed it to the fullest….Hmmm…He left on Saturday afternoon at 5 and came back home on Sunday at 1 p.m…and HE WASN’T EVEN ON A TRIP!

dav

I waited patiently (not) , nonchalantly chatting with the girls of the rest of the men from his group, extracting info like a pro, pretending I couldn’t care less!! Of course I tossed and turned all night not being able to rest. Of course I went through all the stages of happiness, cheering, loneliness, worry, stress, anxiety, anger, impatience and tranquility and not necessarily in that order!!

dav

The moment he entered the house, I sniffled on him to make sure I don;t catch any unusual female smells, I checked his collar for lipstick and his body for glitter…Nothing! Innocent, you Honor!

dav

So, in the spirit of unconditional love (no comments, please) and not wanting to let go of winter yet, I found it appropriate to share with you one of the best cakes I have ever made. It was for Valentine’s Day (can I be more late?) and it had layers of moist Vanilla Graham Cake, with chewy and rich Marshmallow Buttercream in between, covered in silky and thick Chocolate Ganache. All of this was topped with extra marshmallows and more ganache which made it the best naked cake you will ever make!

dav

Some friendly advice. Before making any cake recipe you have discovered, make sure you always, ALWAYS, read the notes of the author AND the comments under the post. It will help you a lot to make sure you bring the cake flavor exactly to your tasting! In this recipe, after reading everything out, I planned ahead and decreased the amount of sugar included in the buttercream, since I wanted it balanced and not overly sweet. Keep in mind that it includes marshmallows, so the sugar, I think, needs to put cut in half. Also, in every layer of buttercream I added crushed Digestive Cookies to give it extra crunchiness and a few more mini marshmallows. I live in Athens, Greece, and we have no Graham Crackers or Graham Flour so, instead, I used Digestive Cookies and Whole Wheat Flour (as advised in the recipe). Finally, for the Ganache I substituted half the amount of milk chocolate for dark. 😉

sdr

The end result is magnificent, eye-catching and luscious. The taste is balanced, sweet and sexy! You get all the crunchiness, sweetness, smoothness and chewiness in just one bite. That’s instant happiness, right?

WHAT YOU NEED:

for the cake

  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup whole wheat (or graham) flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt
  • ½ cup (1 stick/ 113 gr) butter, room temperature
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup packed dark brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup whole milk

for the Marshmallow Buttercream

  • 1 cup (2 sticks) butter, at room temperature
  • 2 cups powdered sugar
  • 2 tablespoons whole milk
  • 280 gr (10 ounces) mini marshmallows I used colorful mini ones from Tiger and that’s why I got a yellowish color.

for the Chocolate Ganache

  • 1 cup milk chocolate, chopped
  • 1 cup dark chocolate, chopped
  • ½ cup heavy cream

extra garnish

  • crushed digestive cookies (or graham)
  • extra mini marshmallows

KNOW HOW:

Click here for the instructions.

 

I really want to thank My Baking Addiction for this magnificent recipe! It made our Valentine’s Day even more special!!!

See you!

♥♥

Leave a Reply

