Pasta · Pinterest Try-outs · Vegetables

Love at first Stir-fry!

“It turns out a moist,cruncy at the same time, spicy, flavorful dish that satisfies your deepest Asian food need! And, so so easy to make!”

stirfry

I am deeply in love! I am amazed and addicted, too! I stumbled upon an extraordinary stir-fry recipe (my first ever!!!) and I just HAVE to share it with you! I have made it twice in a week. Serious addiction alert!

It has cabbage, onions and curry. It turns out a moist,cruncy at the same time, spicy, flavorful dish that satisfies your deepest Asian food need! And, so so easy to make!

stirfry2

I gave it a twist a la Evgenia to bring it to my liking and I added shredded carrots and curry powder instead of curry leaves. The second time I tried it with red cabbage and added egg noodles. Boom! It was to die for! So, choose your own version, noodle-free or noodle-indeed ? Tee hee hee! Read along for my adaptation.

WHAT YOU NEED (for 4 ):

  • 3/4 a head of cabbage, shredded, washed and drained
  • 2 carrots, peeled, washed, shredded
  • 3 garlic pods, mashed
  • 2 onions, peeled and cut in thin slices
  • 2 teaspoons curry powder
  • 1 teaspoon of chilli flecks
  • 1/2 cup of olive or vegetable oil
  • juice from 1 lime or lemon
  • salt
  • 250 gr uncooked egg noodles, boiled and drained (optional)

 KNOW HOW:

  1. Slice the Onion and set aside.

  2. On low fire in a pan(preferably a non-stick pan) sauté the cabbage until they wilt and there is no moisture left in the pan, about 30′.
  3. Keeping it on low fire, pour in the oil, add the sliced onions, garlic,curry powder and salt to taste.
  4. Cook for at least five minutes until you see the Cabbage edges slightly burn, take the pan off the stove and with the remaining heat, add the chilli flecks, carrots and the lemon or lime juice. Mix well and serve warm.

  5. After step 3, add the noodles in your pan and stir well to help them mix with the vegetables.

stirfry1

I thought of adding soya sauce but the flavors were so balanced that I didn’t want to spoil that. My dear Fiance, who is sitting across me as I write and is eating a bowl filled to the top or actually  as if a mountain is peeking on top , he suggested adding chicken broth cubes (that’s homemade chicken broth frozen in ice cube bags for a spur-of-the-moment addition) and to be frank, it sounded brilliant. Next time, I’m doing that and I’ll let you know how it went.

Anyhow, it is perfect comfort food for a hard day’s night or for an energetic lunch. Mmmm, I think I’m going for a second helping. Oups!

Thank you Island Smile for this exceptional recipe. I messed with it a bit and it came out great!

♥♥

 

 

Leave a Reply

