Desserts

Chocolate Lemon Tart with Berries

dav

“It’s a magnificent tart  with the fastest one-pot chocolate crust you can ever make, filled with flavorful lemon and cognac cream, topped with frozen semi-sweet berries and sprinkled with powdered sugar.”

What is it with me, you guys?

Whenever I turn my PC on and open a tub to write a new post I seem to remember that I have to search on-line for bridal lingerie, white swimwear or even balloon shops. And then, I doze off in this labyrinth and I seem to lose track of time.

dav
Tart with a view!

Then, all of a sudden it’s late and I’m too exhausted, excited or lost in the wedding world that I am left with none power to actually write a post for my beloved blog.

I have been neglecting it but, I swear, it’s not that I don’t want to write. The will is right there. My spirits, though, are more….bridal than ever and I can’t tame them, damn it! I’ve been waiting for this for 3 years now and as time approaches (3-oh-dear-lord-what-the-fudge months to go!) I am getting deeper and deeper into the mood!

dav
That’s a pool I’d love to dive in, mid-winter!

It’s been a whirlwind of emotions and errands that I reaaaaally have been enjoying and praying for them not to finish!! Maybe we should postpone the wedding for later? Ok, pretend I didn’t say that!

dav
Where’s my fork?

So, in this lovely, adorable whirlwind I managed to find time to prepare a fantastic dessert right out of my imagination. You see, last week was our homeversary- 2 years living together- and I just had to celebrate it. However, we ended up fighting, for no reason –actually for silly, stupid , what-did-we-say-we-are-arguing-for reason- and we skipped the part of celebrating and moved right to the eating-the-dessert part. It was fun..!  

dav
Ahhh, there it is!

It’s a magnificent tart  with the fastest one-pot chocolate crust you can ever make, filled with flavorful lemon and cognac cream, topped with frozen semi-sweet berries and sprinkled with powdered sugar. I combined two different recipes, messed with them a little and here it is! So, let’s go and make it!!

WHAT YOU NEED ( for a round spring form pan, diameter: 20 cm /  8 inch ):

*Ingredients and directions are given separately on every part of the dessert. So read through the post AND the notes at the end and THEN start your baking engines!

for the tart crust

  • a small pot
  • 200 gr soft flour, sifted (I used all-purpose flour and it came out fine)
  • 50 gr cocoa powder, sifted
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder, sifted
  • 100 gr water
  • 50 gr vegetable oil
  • 50 gr butter (you can replace it with 50 gr of more vegetable oil)
  • 1 teaspoon sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  1. Preheat the oven at 170 C / 340 F .
  2. Put the butter with the sugar and salt in the pot over medium heat, until it melts.
  3. In a medium bowl, mix the flour, baking powder and cocoa powder
  4. In the pot of butter, add the water and oil and bring it to boil.
  5. Add the flour mixture and whisk quickly and swiftly. It will thicken quickly. Keep whisking for 1′-2′ and turn the heat off. Let the dough cool down.
  6. Once it’s cool, put it on your counter and knead it a bit to smooth it.
  7. Put it in your spring form pan and shape it with your fingers to cover the bottom and half-way the walls of the pan.
  8. Use a fork and form holes int he dough to make sure that no air bubbles are created while baking.
  9. Cover it with parchment paper and on top put 500 gr of any kind of legume you have, so that their weight keeps the dough from rising. (You can store the legume in a bag in your cupboard or fridge and use them again in another pie. Certainly not for cooking. You can’t eat them after this.)
  10. Bake for 40′. It will be soft to touch, but once cool, it will have the appropriate solid consistency. While baking, go make your cream!

for the cream

  • 100 gr powdered sugar
  • 50 gr corn starch (corn flour)
  • 2 eggs, room temperature
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla (I have found that liquid essence of vanilla tastes much better than the powdered one)
  • 380 ml milk of choice (the recipe calls for full fat but I only drink almond milk, which is lighter. In this case, add extra 50 gr of corn starch *) 
  • 20 ml cognac (brandy or whiskey)
  • lemon zest from one big (or two small) lemon, unwaxed and washed
  • 2 cups of your favorite frozen berries (I used blueberries and raspberries)
  1. In a medium bowl, whisk together the sugar, corn flour , eggs and vanilla.
  2. In a medium pot, pour the milk and let it boil at medium heat. Once seething, remove from the stove and turn the heat off.
  3. Slowly, lightly, and constantly whisking, pour the hot milk in the egg mixture. Stir until combined.
  4. Pour this mixture back in the pot and place it over low heat. Add the lemon zest and cognac and keep stirring (be patient) until it boils and starts thickening. Lower the heat more and keep stirring for 2′-3′ more. Turn it off.
  5. Pour the cream in a bowl and, cover it with plastic wrap touching the cream on its surface and let it cool down completely.

assembling the tart

 

  • powdered sugar
  1. In your cool tart crust, add the cool cream (a cool situation going on!) spreading it evenly. Top with your berries evenly. Let it sit for 1-2 hours (or in the fridge if eating it way later or next day) and before serving, loosen the wall from you pan to free the tart. Place it on a nice platter, sprinkle with a generous dose of powdered sugar and serve!
dav
This made me very happy! Hooray!

 

*NOTES:

1. Because I forgot that my cake alarm went off, I never checked on the tart and it came out a bit harder than I wanted…Wedding-daydreaming again..! So, because I had my frozen berries out of fridge in a bowl and, while thowing, they gave out a little juice, I used this juice to pour it on my tart crust, to soak it a bit and make it softer!

2. For the cream, I used almond milk but I forgot to add extra corn starch and my cream came out creamier or runnier than I wanted! Please, don’t be like me, Wedding-daydreaming and all! Focus!

(3. Did you notice my hot pink letters?! I’m in love!)

Evgenia ♥♥

3 thoughts on “Chocolate Lemon Tart with Berries

Leave a Reply

