Cake · Desserts

Oreo Vanilla Cake Balls

Hello friends!!

I’m back with my balls as I promised! As you remember, it was my birthday on Saturday and I made a fantastic and decadent birthday cake which I loved, appreciated and annihilated! Tee hee!

dav

Mid-making the cake, I trimmed my cakes to make the surfaces even and straight. And right when I was ready to devour the trimmings (perks of being a baker) I had the brilliant idea to turn them into lovely, silky cake balls, as I have done with my Lemon and Cream Cheese Cake Balls ,straight up to my liking.

dav

I would add cream cheese buttercream, red food coloring to make them pinkish and a few crushed Oreos to bring out the cheese flavor and add a bit of crunchiness. And I did. Then, I would cover them in white chocolate to bring a bit more sweetness to balance the savory taste of the cheese. And I didn’t. Because I didn’t have white chocolate. So, I dipped them in dark chocolate. Yeah!

dav

I put them in a carton box , which I had from a visitor who had brought me chocolates!! Do you do that? Keeping the dessert boxes so that you can put your own desserts to transfer to friends? Well, I do that! Anyways, I brought my balls (thank God I’m a girl!!) over to the bar my friends would meet me and they were a hit! Even the bar tender succumbed to their beauty and texture!

dav

They are extremely addictive and they are best eaten the following day. Or the day after that. If there are any left. So, off we go!

WHAT YOU NEED (for 20 medium-sized balls): 

  • 350 gr leftover cake (mine was vanilla) to be honest, I didn’t measure the amount but I can tell you it was the trimming of the top of two round, 20 cm (8 inch) cake layers.
  • 125 gr cream cheese, room temperature
  • 1/2 tablespoon butter, room temperature
  • 1 tablespoon confectioner’s sugar
  • 3 crushed oreos (not very finely)
  • food coloring of your choice
  • 1 bar of white or semi-sweet chocolate
  • 1 teaspoon vegetable oil
  • 2 crushed oreos for sprinkling

KNOW HOW:

  1. In a medium bowl, using a hand mixer or in your stand mixer, mix the cream cheese, butter and sugar together until they combine well and become a smooth, fluffy mixture. For about 5′-7′. Add the color and mix for 2′.
  2. In the meantime, with clean hands and over a medium bowl, squeeze the cake to create crumbs.
  3. Add the crushed Oreos and the buttercream.  And use your hands again, but softly, to combine the mixture and turn it into a smooth dough.
  4. Form it into 20 balls the size of a walnut or a bit bigger and place them on a big plate.
  5. Put in the fridge for 2 hours, overnight or until you melt the chocolate.
  6. Over low heat place a small pot with a little water just covering the bottom. Over this, place a larger pot and in it add the chocolate cut in pieces. The heat from the water steam will help the chocolate melt mildly without being burnt. Stir occasionally. When it’s melted, add the oil and stir.
  7. Cover a large plate with parchment paper or foil. Keep it close to the pots.
  8. Take the balls out of the fridge and add one at a time in the chocolate. With the help of two teaspoons roll it so that it gets fully covered. Transfer it on the plate. Sprinkle a bit crushed Oreos and let it cool. (If you think the chocolate is not enough, add a bit more, wait for it to melt and keep covering your balls.)
  9. Once they have all cooled down completely. after 3-4 hours, store in fridge.
  10. Eat responsively!

You now have no excuse for nibbling on the leftover cake like a Neanderthal! Mix it up, dude! They will be looking at your balls (!!)  the way you looked at first-lit fire! Tee hee hee!

Love,

Evgenia ♥♥

 

2 thoughts on “Oreo Vanilla Cake Balls

Leave a Reply

