Breakfast time. · Desserts

Pear ‘n’ Ginger Pies (aka the best air freshener) and bonus Wedding Dress news!

Hello there heartsnyumers!

How are you? What have you been up to?

dav

Me… well…. I might have said YES TO THE DRESS!!! Hooraaaaayy!!!! Actually, I haven’t said yes per se, I just have concluded on the one and I will book another appointment to try the same dress on again and then put down a deposit. Then, I will be able to formally say I DO to it!

The past weekend, I was so torn between two dresses but the one I loved really made me smile when I was thinking of it. See, when I tried it on, tears started welling up my eyes and the feeling of completeness surrounded me. I couldn’t stop admiring it and crying. And to think, I never believed I would experience THAT emotion every bride-to-be admits.

It’s perfect (very subjective, I know), it’s everything I had dared to imagine and even more! It’s sparkly and glamourous and fun and joyous and girly and sexy and feminine and..well.. EVERYTHING!!!  It brings out my personality and an upgraded self I love!!! I can’t describe more, because Nikos reads my posts and I wouldn’t want him to have any clue of how I will look when walking towards him at church. Sorry moro mou! You ‘ll have to wait!

dav

With that happy mood on, I wanted to make a small sugary and fruity treat to pair with my usual cup of tea or for breakfast. And most importantly, to fill my house with the rich aromas of sugary baking! It is very easy and fun and you can add any fruit you like. I  used pears. Also, I had some caramelized ginger I had bought from a fruits and nuts store and I added that for extra spicy taste. The best part is the super easy and simple dough, that is so versatile to be used for any kind of pies- sweet or savory- even for pigs in a blanket!

So, I first make the filling and while it’s sizzling I prepare the dough.

WHAT YOU NEED (for 23 small pies):

for the filling

  • 5 pears washed, peeled and chopped (seeds removed)
  • 5 tablespoons brown sugar (you can use regular instead)
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 tablespoon cognac or brandy
  • 1 teaspoon caramelized ginger chopped in tiny pieces ( optional- you can replace it with 1/2 teaspoon grated fresh ginger, and the taste of it will be more subtle)
  1. Add the pears, sugar and spices in a pan over medium heat. Let them caramelise stirring occasionally.
  2. Add the cognac and ginger and stir. Once it turns brownish or golden, turn the heat off. Set aside.

for the dough

  • 2 eggs
  • 1 little bag of baking powder
  • 1/2 glass milk (any kind, I used evaporated)
  • 1 1/2 tablespoon ouzo (cognac or brandy)
  • flour enough to create a tight but fluffy dough (start adding little by little- that’s the greek way!)
  • normally you deep fry them so you don’t need any greesy substance, but since we’re baking them we’re going to need 1 tablespoon of melted butter.

 

  1. In a medium bowl, crack the eggs and add the baking powder. Whisk until incorporated.
  2. Add the milk and ouzo and whisk some more.
  3. Start adding the flour and whisk until it’s like puree. Now, take a spoon and continue adding the flour it takes to have a tight dough. At some point you will need to just use your hands. It will be a bit sticky.
  4. Knead it into a ball.
  5. Sprinkle a little flour on your clean counter or table surface. There, put the ball and sprinkle it with some flour, too. We’re doing this to make sure the dough doesn’t stick on the pin. Take a rolling pin and push it forward and back over the dough, gradually forming a bigger and bigger circle. Every time its size changes, flip it and sprinkle some flour on it and on the counter. Keep doing this until you have a big circle of 1 cm height.
  6. Take a glass, a mug or a small bowl of around 6 cm brim diameter and turning it upside-down push it on the dough to form circles and cut them. In there, you will add the filling.

To assemble:

  •  powdered dugar

dav

  1. Take a small bowl of water. In a dough circle, sprinkle some brown sugar and add a teaspoon of fruit filling. Dip your finger in the water and trace it over the edge of half the circle. Take the other edge and lifting it press it over to reach the water-marked edge, sealing the filling in and creating a shape of half moon. Take a small fork and press the tines on the edge of the half moon to help it seal firmly creating a beautiful ending, too.
  2. Bake at 170 C (340 F) for about 25′ or until the pies get golden.
  3. Sprinkle with powdered sugar and let them cool down. ( I used a little Lemon Glaze I had from my previous recipe of Lemon Cake)

dav

I’m telling you, your kitchen and your whole house will smell heavenly, like fall, like a Yankee candle!!! Who needs to spend a fortune for air fresheners when baking is the easisest way! See ya!

Love,

Evgenia♥♥

Σχολιάστε

