Rice · Vegetables

Spanakorizo – Spinach Rice (and wedding melancholy)

I don’t know what’s gotten into me lately, but I’ve been feeling a little blue and overwhelmed with all the wedding dress shopping and I’ve neglected my blog.

I think it all started on Saturday, when I was in a very nice wedding dress that really got my attention and made me feel special. The place there was excellent, beautiful and calm. The girl who helped was extraordinary at her job and, as a plus, she smelled wonderfully! Also, I only had 3 girls with me (including Mum of course) and it was such a quiet and serene process. When I looked to myslef in the mirror, it started… Tears welled up in my eyes and a strong feeling of melancholy prevailed. I don’t think it was due to the dress – well,partly, it was, because I felt a little calmer that if I don’t find anything else I have a strong «candidate»- but there was something more… Maybe, in this loving and embracing environment I got the chance to focus and realise what I’m actually doing… I mean, I’m trying on dresses, dude, something I’ve been dreaming of for the past 3 years, and what’s more, I’m actually GETTING MARRIED! What the fudge! It felt all so real that moved me for good!

So, in order to get back on track- I’m trying hard- I resorted to traditional cooking, which always gives me a familiar, mommy-like feeling and soothes me. This time, it was Spinach Rice. A lovely casserole, easy to put together and quick. Tomatoes, spinach and rice, all in one pot,make you feel full and warm.

dav

 

WHAT YOU NEED:

  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 1 garlic clove, smashed
  • 1 kilo spinach, washed and cut (I prefer the bag with the frozen spinach ready-to-be-used)
  • 1 can diced tomatoes
  • 2 tablespoons tomato paste
  • 1 cup rice (any kind)
  • 1/2 bunch dill
  • 1/2 bunch parsley
  • 1/2 tablespoon salt
  • pepper
  • juice from 1 lemon

KNOW HOW:

dav

  1. In a large pot, add the oil and onions and saute for 10′ at medium to low heat, until the onions become transparent and a little bit caramelised.
  2. Turn on to medium, add the spinach and rice and stir for 5′.
  3. Add the tomatoes and the paste, the dill, garlic and parsley.
  4. Add a pinch of pepper and the salt. Stir and fill with water to cover it.
  5. Let it cook until there is no water, but a nice sauce, for about half an hour, or more, with a little more water, if needed. The rice must be soft.
  6. Turn it off. Pour the lemon juice in and stir.
  7. Serve warm.

SPINACH3.jpg

It’s healthy and fulfilling. You eat it  on the sofa, curled up, with your favorite series on, to cure the blues.

Love,

Evgenia ♥♥

Σχολιάστε

